Why I’m Starting to Write More Online in 2024

Mitch Malone
2 min readMay 6, 2024

I recently signed up for Dickie Bush & Nicolas Cole’s cohort-based course, Ship 30 for 30.

I’ve always loved to write and for years I’ve been trying to make a more consistent writing habit. But habit formation can be tough, especially when you have a day job to consider, and it’s always so easy to put of writing until tomorrow when you have a bunch on your plate.

After returning from my Adult Gap year in 2023 I feel like some of my priorities have changed, and the way I look at my career and value has changed. So here I am, one day into building a 30 day writing habit.

Here are a few reasons why I decided to commit to Ship 30 for 30 rather than simply attempting to create the habit on my own.

Reason 1: Accountability

Feeling accountable, both financially and because of the expectations, to put words out every day is a terrific motivator for me to get started on any endeavor. I enjoy the pressure of the expectations and I know this will inspire me to write every morning.

Reason 2: Removing Guess Work

I am a habitual over-thinker and perfectionist. These two traits are simultaneously factors in my career success, while also limiting my ability to put out work that is my own. It’s the reason I’ve spent almost two decades shipping great startups but I am yet to start my own company.

Ship 30 for 30 make it easy by removing the question of what to write about and making it simple.

Reason 3: It’s a Great Warm-Up

While I know I want to write more online and share more of my thoughts this way, I also know it’s just a piece of the puzzle of what I really want to do — create more online. After the 30 days of Ship 30 for 30 I actually intent to raise the stakes and begin working on creating video content, which I am even more excited about.

Over the next 30 days, I plan on writing about leadership, remote work and the future of work.

Join me on this adventure — and let me know if you have any questions along the way!

I’m excited to start sharing what I know online.

--

--

Mitch Malone

Product and engineering leader (prev. CTO @ Linktree, Head of Eng @ BlueChilli). Nomad, remote worker, writer, photographer.